Poaching Lines

Bronco

I've been scolded for skiing past some guys who appear to be standing around, hanging out and "poaching" their line. I've also seen comments with the same attitude on teletips trip reports while researching some areas. I'm kinda new to the backcountry ski scene but, this seems pretty stupid. Is it necesary to obtain permission from anyone standing near a potential run to ski said run?

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

In my self-important, filled with delusions of grandeur opinion, the whole point of the backcountry is freedom. If you are not putting someone's life in danger, poach to your heart's content. If someone is standing above where your skis are naturally taking you, they should get moving if the almighty untracked on that exact slope is their utmost desire for the day.

A thought: how will you even be aware of making them angry if you blast through in a whirlwind of faceshots, screaming at the top of your lungs? Anyone who could get angry at such a sight of delight needs some perspective, perhaps.

Just to reiterate to the point of redundancy in the most rhetorical fashion: is it backcountry skiing if you have to ask someone's permission?

You could have the common decency of keeping the line narrow and spooning other tracks to preserve some of the goodness though. Esp. if you are staying at a hut, common courtesy. I'm not saying super tight, but no boarder-style massive traverse swathes across a pristine slope. smirk.gif

iain said:

You could have the common decency of keeping the line narrow and spooning other tracks to preserve some of the goodness though. Esp. if you are staying at a hut, common courtesy. I'm not saying super tight, but no boarder-style massive traverse swathes across a pristine slope. smirk.gif

Indeed, the most courteous thing to do would be to straight-run at all times and huck as much as possible. rockband.gif