Please help me understand how climbing helmets work

Hello, any out there that can explain to me why climbing helmets are suspension helmets without a liner? My understanding is that a suspension helmet will spread the force of any impact over the whole band that fits on your head, but it would only absorb the impact as much as the webbing stretches. Would it not be better to use a helmet with a crushable foam liner as in a skiing helmet? Maybe people do for ice?

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

I have invested considerable time researching the function of climbing helmets. Helmets work in the following fashion:

By wearing a helmet a shield of good mojo is generated which envelopes the wearer protecting him/her from falling objects. It acts like a talisman.

As a dedicated researcher, I have tested this phenomenon by occasionally not wearing a helmet. Nearly every instance was accompanied by some type of cranial impact.

This effect can be compared to wearing clean underwear (in case you are hit by a car and end up in the hospital). If you wear clean underwear, your chances of being hit by a car are very low, statistically speaking. I wear clean underwear every day and have yet to be hit by a car while crossing the street. (See, your mum was right.)

The BMC (British Mountaineering Council) published a report on helmets a while back in their Summit magazine. It's not available online although you can browse reports.

If I remember right climbing helmets fall into two categories; hard shell and solid foam. Hard shell helmets work by absorbing the impact as the whole helmet deforms not just the webbing, that's why having ample space in between the cradle and the head is so important. Solid foam helmets absorb the impact as the foam breaks.