Paradise Parking Lot

LittleJohn

I had a lot of internal conflict on whether to post this incident or not, and decided to post it because I do believe in full disclosure of law enforcement activities.  I have no complaint with any of the officers involved, the way I was treated or anything else to do with the incident.  

Saturday morning I took my daughter up to hike up to Camp Muir.  I am a veterinarian who works only with farm animals, and I took my working truck to the Paradise lot.  I had left an empty bottle of cattle vaccine with syringe and needle attached to it in the coffee cup holder of my truck.  The coffee cup holder is located on the floor, in front of the center console of the front seat.  It can not be seen through the front or rear window, only by really looking from a side window.  Shortly after we got back from Muir, several police officers came over and questioned me about the needle and bottle in the truck.  They said they routinely walk through the lots looking into cars, and they spotted the syringe and needle and were concerned about it.  They asked for driver's license- took a long time to find, forgot where I had stashed in in the pack.  In short time they accepted explanation of the bottle and syringe and we left.  

The only reason I am posting this is to relay the level of observation that occurs in the park, far beyond what I had ever suspected.   I have no real axe to grind, or complaint with the procedure- but I do believe that everyone has the right to know what level of supervision they are under at different areas.  I was surprised at the fact they actually walk through and visually inspect cars- but it certainly is not a private area.  

The trip itself was interesting- been to Muir many times, this was the first complete round trip that we never once  saw the mountain- even at Muir it was so cloud covered that you couldn't see anything.  I had to keep telling my daughter how pretty it really was.