[TR] Eldorado - West Arete 7/24/2010

RichardKorry

Trip: Eldorado - West Arete

Date: 7/24/2010

Trip Report:

Chris and I have been climbing together since the early 1980s in the Gunks and later in the Cascades after both of moved to Seattle at different times. We used to do lots of trips in lots of places (Canada, Wyoming, Washington) but after we both had kids (he has two and I have three) and life gets busier it was harder to get out. But we have managed an annual mountaineering trip for the last 10 years or so and did some nice routes. One route we've talked about doing over the years was the West Arete of Eldorado. When we were doing lots of climbing I think both of us weren't that psyched to do the route (only 5.7 after all). But after doing it Sunday 7/25 we both have a lot more respect for the route and those that do it.

We approached via Hidden Lakes Peak trail head and the Triad traverse. We used Nelson, Beckey and a TR from SummitPost as our beta on the approach and route. The trailhead was full of cars on Sat. as we headed out in the blazing sun. The shade of the woods was welcome but then we broke out into the avalanche gully and hit the humidity of the brush that made it feel really hot.