Glacier Travel

Question from a relatively new climber from back east where we don't have glaciers:

Basically, when do you rope up?

Or more precisely, when do you sometimes NOT rope up? What mountains, what grade glacier, time of year, weather conditions, etc. do you just not bother. Obviously everyone's level of risk acceptance is different, just wondering what the variance is and what to evaluate when stepping onto a glacier. I took a crevasse rescue class this spring and the "company line" was basically any and all glaciers at all times, but I think that seems over conservative. The Palmer Glacier on Hood (underneath the ski area!) seems an obvious exception to that rule but I'm new to glacier travel so who knows. I also don't do any ski mountaineering (yet) but it seems like they are always unroped ripping turns on the way down. What are they seeing that gives them that confidence?

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Rope up early. Rope up often.

Until you have been out a thousand times, you will not want to un rope. And then, you may still fall in a crevasse as so many famous adn not so famous climbers have.

Have fun!

Rope up early. Rope up often.

:tup:

from Minus 148 (first winter ascent of Denali)...good book and always worth learning from other mistakes!!

- "The bareheaded Frenchman came bouncing alone and unroped with a big grin on his face...After all, Farine had more experience on glaciers than either of them had."

- "Where he had expected to see Farine there was only an empty glacier."

- "There was no movement of pupils; no reaction. There was no pulse. The face was purplish. George pronounced him dead."

While roping up can be a nuisance sometimes it's good not to get complacent...even if you you travel glaciers a thousand and one times never breaking through or falling it only takes once...