The Fifth Force at Index

Sherri

For those who always wondered why the climbs at Index feel hard...

We were looking for shade over at the Country yesterday and it looked like a yard sale was going on by the tunnel:

0825101321.jpg

They left the door open:

0825101320.jpg

So we crept in for a closer look:

0825101320b.jpg

Light wasn't good enough to take a pic inside, but it basically looked like a beer-making set up, with tubes and beakers and whatnot.

The folks from the UW Gravity Lab explained that they had been running tests there for the past 20yrs measuring the "Fifth Force"--something to do with gravity and atomic something or other--and now that the experiment is ended the tunnel will be emptied and sealed.

I expect gravity at Index will return to normal levels shortly thereafter. Climb on.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I used to work in a lab next to some of the uw gravity guys.

Basically they use really delicate pendulums to check to see if gravity behaves oddly at shortish distances (~1 mm when i was there).

The idea, as they explained it at the time, was if string theory involves a lot of weird extra dimensions all wound up maybe the pendulum might interact with them. No string theorists seems to think this might happen but it is good to check these things.

The cool thing is that the pendulums were accurate enough that they could tell when the parking lot was full or the hillside outside was soaked with rain water by looking at the data and delicate enough that a jostle to the enclosure (or an earthquake) would break the wire it was hung by.

The cool thing is that the pendulums were accurate enough that they could tell when the parking lot was full or the hillside outside was soaked with rain water by looking at the data and delicate enough that a jostle to the enclosure (or an earthquake) would break the wire it was hung by.