Absolute newbie; where do I start?

Kaskadian

Hi all,

When it comes to climbing, I'm as green as it comes. I grew up here in the PNW (Portland area), and always had an interest in climbing, but unfortunately, my family didn't really have an interest in climbing. I ended up moving away from the PNW when I was 11 (just moved back after 14 years away), so I didn't really have an opportunity to climb growing up.

I'm 25 now, and see no reason not to get started. I'm kind of confused as to where I should begin. I've been looking into some classes/mountaineering courses, etc. I know that some sort of fundamental training will be necessary, but I'd love some guidance as where I should start and what kind of equipment I should buy.

Cheers

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I think the most helpful thing to do at this point is to think about and try to answer the question 'What do you want to do in the mountains?' For example, is your ultimate goal to climb Mount Rainier? Or do you want to send a 5.12 at Index? Or do long alpine rock routes in the Bugaboos? The answer to this question can help point you in the right direction. It's ok if you don't know right now, part of being a climber is adjusting your goals as you try new and different things.

That said, for an absolute noob, in my opinion there are a couple of options to learn the ropes.

Option 1: Take a course like the Mountaineers Basic Alpine course or the Washington Alpine Club Basic Course if you are in Washington, or a similar course from the Mazamas in Oregon. Any of those will help you learn some basic mountain travel, glacier, and rock skills, and would be a solid foundation to build from. They also help you meet people who are in a similar situation in terms of experience and desire to climb.