Blood Thinners and Altitude and Strenuous Exercise

Anyone here on blood thinners? Any idea how that affects the body during strenuous exercise like one would get with a hideous car to car like say Mt. Sir Donald?How about affects from altitude? I'm new with this crap and trying to figure things out. Hoping to get some first-hand info.

Domo Arigato

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm on 4 mg of coumadin. At this point it looks like it'll be long-term, probably permanent. I've been told that once the injury has healed and my clot hardens up, I should be able to return to normal activities but my docs were pretty vague on their definition of strenuous...the old "just don't let yourself get too tired" thing. That'll get me a few hundred yards up the trail lol. Just wondering if the thinners themselves will do something to the blood to reduce stamina. From what I hear from some people, usually not, so then I gotta wonder about altitude issues.

I alternate between fish and plant oils to ensure my omega 3s and 6s are balanced which will both thin your blood but I've never had an issue at altitude... Then again oil doesnt exactly come with a warning label where as your prescription does...

I'd ask Kevino on this board what he thinks

From experience with family members on Coumadin I would be more worried about a cut or other minor injuries, like a impact bruise, first. Then may be how it effects your endurance.

One of my buddies on a steady diet of Coumadin has done several 8Km peaks previous and continues to get out with what appears to be no slowing down. But last trip we did together I was a little surprised he would be on Coumadin the rest of his life as well. Not sure he understood the risk (or that I do) and we haven't talked about it.